has that cosmopolitan flair about him that tells audiences he's not going to stay in one place for long. Being able to be and do many things at the same time, and feeling at home wherever he goes - that is the personal and artistic philosophy of this charismatic entertainer. If his life story didn't exist already, it would have to be invented.

Cotton McAloon was born in California, grew up in France, and until recently lived a bohemian lifestyle: colorful, turbulent and impulsive. His parents - dad's a mathematician, mom's an artist - embody the ideals of a 1960s generation of intellectuals: avant garde and anti-establishment. At 15, Cotton can choose between the academy and the circus school. He chooses to run away. No school can teach him how to win people's hearts. Since then, he's never looked back. In the big wide world of entertainment, the currency is wit and skill, and he certainly has plenty of that.

uses the gifts he inherited - logic and sensitivity - in a way that nobody could have predicted. He becomes one of the best jugglers in the world. On his travels he earns laughter and laurels, and wins the heart of a beautiful ballet dancer who now shares his life in their home in Berlin.

Cotton's style is so successful that it has spawned imitators all over the world. But none of them has quite what it takes to match his artistry. Cotton McAloon is a man of many personalities that change faster than you can look. Winner of the coveted "Clown d'Oro" award presented by RAI Uno, the Italian TV station, and proud bearer of the title "Street Entertainer of the Year" (sponsored by Time Out, the London arts magazine), Cotton is undoubtedly a world-class performer. And he's as clever with words as he is with his hands, as his characteristic confession reveals: "I don't do this for money, I do it for fun. But the more money I make, the more fun I have."

(Peek into Cotton's private photo album)

umweht der Duft der großen weiten Welt und der Zuschauer ahnt: auf Cotton´s Seidenhemd klebt kein Etikett lange. Vieles gleichzeitig zu sein und zu können und sich im Überall zu Hause zu fühlen - das ist Lebensstrategie und künstlerisches Credo des charismatischen Entertainers. Gäbe es seine Biographie nicht schon, man müßte sie erfinden.

Cotton McAloon ist in Kalifornien geboren, in Frankreich aufgewachsen und hat bis vor kurzem ein Pippi-Langstrumpf-Leben geführt: bunt, turbulent und bewegend. Seine Eltern - der Vater Mathematiker, die Mutter Künstlerin - verwirklichen die Vorsilben einer intellektuellen 60er - Jahre-Generation: avant & anti. Mit 15 kann Cotton entscheiden zwischen Akademie und Zirkusschule. Er läuft weg. Keine Schule bringt ihm bei, wie man das Herz der Menschen erobert. Er läuft weit weg und kommt so schnell nicht wieder. Witz und Virtuosität sind seine Währung. Ab jetzt ist er überall zu Hause.

eine unvorhergesehene Weise setzt er das um, was ihm in die Wiege gelegt wurde: Logik und Gefühl. Er wird zu einem der weltbesten Jongleure. Unterwegs verdient er sich Lachen und Lorbeeren und das Herz einer schönen Ballettänzerin, mit der er seit ein paar Jahren glücklich in Berlin-Kreuzberg lebt.

Längst ist seine Kunst so perfektioniert, daß sie Nachahmer auf der ganzen Welt auf den Plan ruft. Aber so ganz schafft das keiner. Cotton McAloon - das sind nämlich ganz viele Persönlichkeiten, die sich rasend schnell abwechseln. Der Gewinner des begehrten "Clown d'Oro"-Preises des italienischen TV-Senders RAI Uno und Träger der renommierten Auszeichnung "Time Out Street Entertainer of the Year", die die Stadt London vergibt, ist ein Weltklasse-Artist. Artistisch ist übrigens auch die Rethorik des preisgekrönten Künstlers. So bekennt McAloon: "Es geht mir nicht ums Geld, sondern um den Spaß. Aber je mehr Geld ich mache, desto mehr Spaß kann ich haben."

(Ein kleiner Einblick in Cottons privates Photoalbum)